top of page

Pavilion win Edward Rowland Memorial Trophy three years in a row!

The Edward Rowland Memorial Trophy winners, back row, left to right: Jamie Dunk, Danny Minter, Simon Davey and Mark Strong. Front row: Colin Davey and Vinnie Minter

Worthing Pavilion won the Edward Rowland Memorial Trophy for a third consecutive season when they defeated Hove & Kingsway by 24 shots to 17.

To reach the final at Burgess Hill Bowls Club, Pavilion won five knockout rounds over 21 ends, starting with their closest match of the entire tournament, a 21-20 victory against Hollingbury Park in early June.

In round two they defeated Rottingdean 21-16 and, in round three, Barcombe 24-15.

The quarter-final involved a short trip to Lancing, where Pavilion won 21-6 in wet and windy weather. The semi-final, played on neutral territory at Burgess Hill, ended in a 22-17 victory over Buxted Park.

Pavilion's winners in the final were Colin Davey playing one, Jamie Dunk at two, Simon Davey at three and skip Mark Strong. Danny Minter and Vinnie Minter both played in earlier rounds and cheered on their teammates on September 3. All six players had competed in Pavilion's club finals weekend only hours before the Edward Rowland decider.

Pavilion's other team, represented by Simon Rusbridge, Hayden Clarke, Andy Clarke and Gavin Beven, defeated Norfolk and Shoreham in the first two rounds before losing to Southwick.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page